Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: The Fog: 3rd Draft (CP Comments Incorporated)  (Read 519 times)

Merethebookgal

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
The Fog: 3rd Draft (CP Comments Incorporated)
« on: July 30, 2021, 06:24:54 PM »
My critique partners gave me a few suggestions for small but important details, and then I did a little bit of tweaking (because I can't help myself  :D ) but overall, it's largely unchanged from the last draft. Just a bit more polished  :)

"Chuck, I need those new images, and I need them now!" Amanda shouted from her office.

Tensions were high at the Department of Fog Investigation, Control, and Eradication (FICE) headquarters in Silver Spring, Maryland. Scientists and engineers typed away furiously while the phones rang off the hook.

Chuck turned from his monitor with wide eyes and a forehead beaded in sweat. "I'm pulling them up on the main screen."

The Fog was back. Years had passed since its last occurrence, and many at FICE hoped it was a false alarm, but once cell phone footage started spreading, panic set in.

There was no mistaking the Fog. It moved in intricate, whirling patterns that were part dancer and part predator. The mist enveloped its victims' faces and forced itself inside any open cavity. The transformation into a homicidal extension of the Fog was immediate.

Amanda entered the control room and studied the live satellite feed. '"It doesn't seem to be spreading."

"Correct," another woman answered as she joined Amanda. "The Fog is concentrated in Baltimore's inner harbor area."

Amanda sighed and pinched her nose. "It would choose a tourist destination. One can only hope the hotels are properly equipped for the situation."

"I've been in contact with field offices across the country, and there are no other reported sightings."

Amanda studied the newcomer. "And you are?"

"Jeannette, ma'am. Jeannette Miller. I lead the Eradication Prototype Team."