Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Lizzie Bell - Draft 3, CP edits (still don't have a title, help)  (Read 541 times)

EBell96

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
He?d been so calm. That was the part that kept her up at night. Lay sighed, her heart rate slowing. Her hair was damp with sweat, t-shirt clinging to her. She cradled her face, eyes closed, and just focused on breathing. Her cheeks were tacky beneath her fingers. 
As she breathed, she felt the vines that trailed around and over her bed brush against her skin gently, almost as if they were human; the touch of a concerned younger sibling in the night. When she fisted her hands against her eyelids, pulling her knees in closer to her chest, she felt the wide, cool waxy texture of the palm leaves brush against her calves. 
But the plants weren?t human. There was nobody in the apartment to hear her cry, and yet she tried to keep it silent anyway. And in their own way, the plants did know; they sensed that sort of thing. Reacted to anger or sadness. People were so fussy about their breath-plants, these days, especially the people who came to Lay. But while they brought good business, they also brought numerous complaints, about the quality of their oxygen; the vibrancy of their ferns. 
As if any of them knew a single thing about keeping something alive. 
She sighed again, and swung her feet over the side of the bed, feet sinking into the moss that covered the floor.