Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: "Against Humanity" - CP edits  (Read 526 times)

Linda_Scott

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
"Against Humanity" - CP edits
« on: August 01, 2021, 12:06:33 AM »
My CPs are amazing.  I loved reading each of their stories, and they provided lots of helpful feedback that hopefully have helped me turn a conversation between characters into an actual story.  They rightly pointed out that this was more a scene than a story (which may still be the case, but making the bet between the characters more explicit elucidates "my human" and allows us to see the change in the MC when it agrees to help its adversary), and suggested -- two of them by their uncertainty whether the MC was a demon and the third explicitly -- that the narrator needed to be either less snarky, or snarkier.  (I chose snarkier.  Of course I chose snarkier.)

I've found this process exhilarating.  The radical vulnerability of sharing a messy early draft with people who are not family or old buddies is rewarding for me.  It opens the creative process into a collaborative one, and helps me get outside my own head.  My partner is participating too (hi Pat) and it's also been terrific bouncing intermediate drafts off each other and negotiating the CPs' input together.

Here's the new draft!

"Against Humanity"
by Linda Scott

"We have to talk," Chelion said in its most take-me-seriously voice.

I glanced up from my pinball game and did a double take.  I managed not to tilt the machine, but I lost my ball.  "Not while you look like that."  I shuddered.

"Like what?"

"Like fifty farts in a trenchcoat."  I pulled back the plunger and released the ball.  Maybe if I annoyed it enough, I could keep playing.

There was a pained pause.  Its singed-caramel reek assailed my nostrils.  Well, not on the corporeal level, but still.  "It's not a trenchcoat," it pouted.

"Oh, for --Then like a hundred farts in a hoodie."

"Why a hundred now?"