Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Week 3 (CP edits incorporated) Hidden Transcripts  (Read 494 times)

PMS_Chicago

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Week 3 (CP edits incorporated) Hidden Transcripts
« on: August 01, 2021, 12:10:52 AM »
I had two excellent critique partners working with me.  The fundamental issue I had in previous drafts was that I wasn't making the connection between the two threads of the story explicit enough for my readers to pick up on it.  This draft is an attempt to address those concerns and paint some glowing arrows to ensure the reader knows why I'm suddenly talking about helicopters in the middle of a nice office meeting.

That means I had to make fairly substantial changes to add in connective tissue while keeping the work within word count limits. I feel like I'd much rather have a novel length to work with, but I'm guessing that would require this project to be a few more weeks long...

Hidden Transcripts

Excerpt from transcript of conversation with Alex Cervantes:

"So I had the helicopter dream again."

"Oh Alex. Tell me about it."

"Well, same as the others, you know? I'm flying real low in my old H-8 over a huge crowd and then it goes out of control. Only this time?"

"What happened this time?"

"This time just before I hit the ground, I saw my father in the crowd."

(sound of typing) "Running away from you like before?"

"No, Doc, see, that's the thing. He was just standing there in uniform at full salute. He kept on saluting 'til my 'copter hit him." 

Sage Henderson sighed deeply. She had spent the entire week meticulously preparing transcripts from the director's case files to hand over to the veterans liaison's office, and now it looked like she was going to miss the meeting.  Her virtual assistant had driven her to a non-descript office building that lacked the sort of signage one would expect from a government agency. 

"Percy, can you confirm the address, please?"