Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: La Capitaine Retourne - CP edits  (Read 623 times)

Dani Frank

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
La Capitaine Retourne - CP edits
« on: August 01, 2021, 03:43:37 AM »
I was very excited to get feedback on my story this week. I knew it needed more internalization and could probably use some clarity, but where? And how could I possibly fit all of it? Well, if I ever doubted the help of CPs, this week should correct that idea, because the feedback I received was so helpful and I can already see this story growing.

"Who's captain here?"

Boots thudded on the mossy pier. "Me voila." Capitaine Margot Toulouse touched the rim of her feathered tricorn, nodding at the surly merchant.

After months at sea, Margot still felt the phantom sway of the ocean beneath her feet. This was only a quick restock. Treasure lay on the horizon.

"Lisbeth." Margot stopped her second as she passed. "See they don't go overboard on the rum again." She nodded to the crew disembarking.

Lisbeth shrugged. "I'll do what I can."

"Excuse me."

The two women turned to the forgotten merchant.

"You can't dock here."

Margot spread her arms wide. "This is the ocean. There are no rules."

He pointed to a sign nailed to the post on her right. "It says here--"

Lisbeth ripped the sign free, crushed it, and tossed it to the waves. "I'll see they stay in line." She marched after the crew.

Margot turned her attention back to the merchant. "See? No signs."

The merchant sputtered, his face turning red. "Your ship is blocking my pier!"

Behind him, a hooded figured swiped the merchant's purse. Margot tilted her head as she watched. She could use a quick hand. A petty thief was nothing special, but something about this one called to her. She couldn't ignore a gut feeling.

"I'll see that it's moved." She lied, tipping her hat to the merchant and following after the mysterious figure.