Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: CP Version: Smoke on the Water  (Read 521 times)

KristenH

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
CP Version: Smoke on the Water
« on: August 01, 2021, 07:54:53 PM »
Special thanks goes to Megan, Dani, and Johanna for helping me out by making this short story better. My word count is down. I've slightly changed my ending to give it a romantic hint of what's to come. Enjoy!

Smoke On the Water

On a clear spring morning, I walked along the long pier at Washington Park Beach, the waters of Lake Michigan lapped at the shore, Foamy waves carried a scattering of seashells to decorate the sand. I?d received a special assignment from the National Historical Society to design an overload appliqu? for the annual BalloonFest in Astor Fields next month. They?d given me permission to tour the automated lighthouse. Lucky for me, I wasn't afraid of heights.
Lighthouses had always fascinated me for ever since I was a young girl  From my previous research on Michigan City Lighthouse & Pier, I?d gotten the gist of how tall and wide the lighthouse would be to apply on  the nylon fabric for the balloon.  I pretended to faint.  My pulse soared like a surfer riding a wave when the local newspaper mentioned my name in that article. At the entrance, I typed rough estimates for the pre-cut design. Instead of the usual red-and-white stripes, I etched a light composition on the canvas like an artist painting their seascape. My heartbeat slammed inside my chest as I?d worked on the design. When I finished, I unlocked the doors to the lighthouse with the master key.
Inside the lighthouse, I climbed the spiral staircase to the elevated catwalk. Out-of-breath, I reached the top and glanced at the large windows facing Lake Michigan to marvel at the view. ?Wow! I feel like I'm on top of the world?? I let out a soft chuckle and relaxed my shoulders.