Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Cloud Jumper final draft (formerly scud run)  (Read 554 times)

dextermain

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Cloud Jumper final draft (formerly scud run)
« on: August 06, 2021, 01:08:34 AM »
                                                                          Cloud Jumper

Neil's shirt stuck to his back almost as soon as he stepped out the door. The lifting fog and billowing clouds reminded him of the summer long ago, when he and his brother chased the falling cloud. Most of those days were sticky, hot, and filled with meandering adventures. How different their summer, and now his life, could have been if it hadn't been for his brother's interest in the clouds.
   Right before school had let out that year Neil's brother came home excitedly talking about how clouds used to be. Neil was eight years older than him and could barely remember the time when clouds weren't something to be cautious around. For Neil's brother, watching a cloud sink down, and rest on a building was as natural as watching a thunderstorm. They were as dangerous as thunderstorms too. If someone wasn't careful a cloud could crush them. But that was rarer than a lightning strike.
       One morning that summer, Neil's brother had woken up much earlier than him. He burst into his room shouting, "A cloud. There's a cloud falling, and it looks like it's gonna land in the big soccer field."
Neil threw some shorts and a hoodie on and the two of them ran out the door. They cut through the neighbor's yards and ran as fast as they could. They weaved through a small grove of trees, their vision blinded for a quick moment, circled around a light pole on the edge of the field, and past a covered pavilion. They tried to keep their heads up in the sky looking for the descending cloud, but while they pushed through the trees it seemed the cloud completely vanished.
"Man," his brother said, "I'm going to get better at finding these clouds."