Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: The Confrontation Draft 4 (Editor Edit)  (Read 650 times)

Tenn

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
The Confrontation Draft 4 (Editor Edit)
« on: August 08, 2021, 12:43:03 AM »
Final draft time! It's been a lovely journey. Thanks again to my CPs, and thanks to my editor. Their feedback not only made the story better but will also affect my future writing. I don't usually go for picture prompts, which was the first hurdle in this activity. I finally settled on using characters from a previous sort story and the second hurdle became finding a way to incorporate the image in their story/world. The third hurdle was essentially making the world "smaller" so that the story was bogged down by unanswered questions (the hardest thing). This is the hurdle that caused me to trip. I tumbled over and rolled straight into the fourth hurdle: deciding which questions to answer, which to remove, and which to leave as-is, all in 1000 words. Hopefully this draft flows better and is more comprehensive.

Samira didn?t have a solid plan for confronting the boy she?d almost killed, but a malleable plan was a plan, nonetheless. Negotiate, intimidate, evacuate. The supposed victim had spent the last two weeks inundating her inbox with what looked like security camera stills of the incident. With no electricity in the abandoned building, it could only mean that he?d had an accomplice―which neither she nor Enya had anticipated when they?d lured him there. They?d assumed he worked alone. Now there was another person they needed to keep quiet. If those images leaked, they?d either face four months of magical probation in Elemental court or be punished for their mere existence in Ordinary court.