Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: First Draft: La Capitaine  (Read 2137 times)

Dani Frank

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
First Draft: La Capitaine
« on: November 05, 2019, 06:42:57 PM »
Welcome

Please continue to lower your bar as I present to you...my first draft. Initially, I was just writing my outline, which tends to be wordy. At some point that just transitioned into the first draft. That's right. I've managed a super hybrid of the planner/pantser strategy.
So what you see here, despite getting close to the word limit, is very bare bones. That's next-week-Dani's problem. I also had a real issue coming up with a name for the male character and ended up using Guy as a filler then never coming up with something else. This may change in future edits, but maybe I don't even care enough about that guy to try to give him a name anymore. Emotions are high!

La Capitaine

Captian Guy Roberts knows she has a map to the talisman so he sneaks onto her ship but she catches him rifling through her chamber and shows him that she does have the map and then she burns it in front of him and orders him to the brig.
Guy did not come without an escape plan and his ship appears from nowhere and starts firing in her ship. Margot is gloating over Guy when the cannons start shooting and a hole is punctured through the cell freeing him. The ship shakes heavily from the blast and Guy's eyes widen as he falls back through the hole in the side of the ship, tumbling into the water below. Margot, forgetting herself and remembering their history, jumps in after him. In the water, she cuts his hands free so he won't drown and that's when she realizes it was a trap.
A boat comes around from behind his ship and pulls the two of them into it and Margot is dragged onto the ship. She is the only person who has seen the map and Guy knows how flawless her memory is.